Nigerian NewsSports

President Tinubu, First Lady host Super Falcons star, Asisat Oshoala in Lagos

President Bola Tinubu and the First Lady, Oluremi Tinubu, on Thursday hosted Super Falcons striker and 2023 CAF Women’s Player of the Year, Asisat Oshoala.

The President received Oshoala at his residence in Lagos state, where she presented him the CAF Award. Tinubu and Remi had congratulated the Barcelona Femeni star on winning the best African female footballer of the year for the sixth time.

Oshoala was also commended for distinguishing herself in the sport, applauding her significant contributions to women’s football on the continent.

Oshoala meets Tinubu

Tinubu said; “Nigerian women will always have a pride of place in the world. What our ladies have achieved in football, our women are achieving in all fields of endeavour around the world—rising to the top and demonstrating the best of the Nigerian character of excellence, tenacity, ingenuity, and resilience”.

Cognizant of the feats of star sprinter, Tobi Amusan, and the presence of multiple Nigerian women on the Forbes’ ‘2023 World’s 100 Most Powerful Women,’ List, including media mogul, Ms. Mo Abudu, and Director-General of the World Trade Organization (WTO), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the President and the First Lady assured Oshoala of the nation’s continued support for her and other Nigerian women striving for excellence in their chosen paths.

Speaking to the media after being warmly hosted by the President and First Lady, Oshoala expressed appreciation for their support towards the Super Falcons.

She said; “I want to appreciate the President and the First Lady for giving me the opportunity to present the award to them. During the last World Cup, we had a couple of issues, and they intervened and have been very supportive to the girls, even after the competition.”

In similar vein, on 7th of August 2023, the First Lady, Oluremi received members of the Nigerian female football team, at the Presidential Villa, Abuja after they were knocked out of the FIFA Women’s World Cup by England.