Past Big Brother Naija winners didn’t deserve to win – Pere Egbi

Nigerian reality TV star and actor, Pere Egbi has said the past winners of Big Brother Naija don’t deserve their grand prizes.

The two-time contestant of the show insinuated that the winners emerged champions because Nigerians voted based on emotions rather than logic.

The past winners of Big Brother Naija since inception are Katung (2006) – season 1, Efe – (2017) season 2, Miracle (2018), Mercy (2019), Laycon (2020), White Money (2021), Phyna (2022) and Ilebaye (2023) – All Stars.

Pere past bbnaija winners

Pere, who spoke in the latest episode of Celebrity Quickies, said if the reality show was to be a South African or American programme, those that have won it so far wouldn’t have gotten the title.

Despite appearing in the just concluded All Stars edition in 2023, Pere said he won’t accept to be on the show again if the opportunity presents itself.

He said: “My experience in the Big Brother Naija house was a rollercoaster. I had different encounters with different people, experiences that gave me something. Overall, it was good.

But if I was asked to go back in the [BBNaija] House again, I would not. Simply because I feel Nigerians are not ready for reality TV.

A bunch of Nigerians who actually vote for these guys in these shows in Nigeria, especially, Big Brother, are just one-track minded. I’m being honest, if this was a South African or American show, I don’t think the people who won will win.”