#ImoDecides2023: Hope Uzodinma wins all 27 Imo LGAs

Imo State Governor Hope Uzodinma of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has won in all the 27 Local Government Areas of the state in the just-concluded election.

This was made known as the collation of results is taking place at the State Collation Centre of the Independent National Electoral Commission in Owerri.

The process commenced around 02:30 am on Sunday and during the final collation of the results of the LGAs, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oye, Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State, Prof. Abayomi Fasina, serving as the state Returning Officer for the election, announced an hour break to enable him to compute the final result and declare the winner of the election.

According to INEC, a total of 2,419,922 registered voters in the state for the poll, with 2,318,919 Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) collected.

At the culmination of the collation at 08:30 am on Sunday, Fashina announced that the center would take an hour-long break and reconvene for the announcement of the winner.

Earlier, the state agent of the Labour Party, Callistus Ihejiagwa, was beaten and thrown out of the collation centre after he objected to the results announced by the LGA returning officers.

The Peoples Democratic Party’s state agent, Kissinger Ikeokwu, immediately left the collation centre. Athan Achonu, Samuel Anyanwu, the LP and PDP candidates in the election have both called for a total cancellation of the election.