Connect with us

Nigerian News

BREAKING NEWS: PDP wins Edo State gubernatorial election, awaits INEC declaration




Godwin Nogheghase Obasek, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has won the just concluded Edo State gubernatorial election owing to the results from the 18 local government areas in the state as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Although Obaseki awaits the official INEC declaration as the winner of the election, he has polled the most votes from the 18 local government areas in the state, wining 13 out of the 18 local government areas.

PDP’s Godwin Obaseki polled a total of 307,856 votes, while APC’s Osagie Ize-Iyamu polled a total of 223,622 votes as the closest candidate to Godwin Obeski who won with an incredible margin of 84,234 votes

READ ALSO:  Why my dogs didn’t attack mob that stole over 350 motorcycles, other items from my house - Senator Folarin

Although we are reporting online results of the two major and leading political parties in the state, PDP and APC, there are a total of 14 political parties that participated in the election.


See results from the 18 local government areas below:

Ovia South-West Local Government Area

APC: 10,636
PDP: 12,659

Orhionmwon Local Government Area


APC: 10,458
PDP: 13,445

READ ALSO:  Nigeria considers supplying electricity to Chad

Etsako Central Local Government Area

APC: 8,359
PDP: 7,478

Etsako East Local Government Area


APC: 17,011
PDP: 10,668

Akoko Edo Local Government Area

APC: 22,963
PDP: 20,101

Oredo Local Government Area (Obaseki’s LGA)

APC – 18,365
PDP – 43,498

Owan West Local Government Area


APC – 11,193
PDP – 11,485

Ovia North East Local Government Area

APC – 9,907
PDP – 16,987

Uhunmwonde Local Government Area

APC: 5,972
PDP: 10,022

Esan west Local Government Area

READ ALSO:  Lagos state needs N1 trillion for reconstruction - Gbajabiamila

APC – 7,189
PDP – 17,433

Egor Local Government Area

APC: 10, 202
PDP: 27, 621

Etsako west Local Government Area (Oshiomole’s LGA)

APC: 26,140
PDP: 17,959

Owan East Local Government Area

APC: 19,295
PDP: 14,762

Ikpoba Okha Local Government Area

APC: 18, 218
PDP: 41, 030

Igueben Local Government Area

APC: 5,199
PDP: 7,870

Esan Central Local Government Area

APC: 6,719
PDP: 10,694

Esan Southeast Local Government Area

APC: 9,237
PDP: 10,565

Esan North East Local Government Area

APC: 6,559
PDP: 13,579

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *