Ballon d’Or 2023: Messi wins eighth Ballon d’Or award

Inter Miami forward, Lionel Messi has won the 2023 Ballon d’Or awards, making it a record eighth time in his career.

Messi clinched the award three times more than anyone else, in 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2019, 2021 and now (2023).

The 36-year-old was named the Ballon d’Or 2023 winner at a ceremony in Paris, France on Monday, 30th of October 2023.

Speaking after receiving the award, he said: “Thank you very much, to share this with my national team-mates for what we were able to achieve with the national team.

“The entire group, the coaching staff, everyone involved. I’m delighted to be here once more to be able to enjoy this moment one more time.

“To be able to win the World Cup and really achieve my dream, to share this with all those who were involved.”

Fittingly, to celebrate his World Cup success, he added: “To finish, I want to say happy birthday to Diego Maradona.”

Messi beat Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Erling Haaland (Manchester City), Martin Odegaard (Arsenal), Victor Osimhen (Napoli), and Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona); amongst many other male nominees.

See the list of Ballon d’Or 2023 nominees (Male) below:

Josko Gvardiol

Andre Onana

Karim Benzema

Mohamed Salah

Jamal Musiala

Bukayo Saka

Randal Kolo Muani

Jude Bellingham

Kevin De Bruyne

Bernardo Silva

Khvicha Kvaratskhelia

Emiliano Martinez

Ruben Dias

Nicolo Barella

Erling Haaland

Martin Odegaard

Ilkay Gundogan

Yassine Bounou

Julian Alvarez

Vinicius Jr


Lionel Messi (Winner)

Antoine Griezmann

Lautaro Martinez

Robert Lewandowski

Kim Min-Jae

Luka Modric

Kylian Mbappe

Victor Osimhen

Harry Kane.