Connect with us

CorrectNG wiki

5 smallest countries in Africa and their populations



Africa is the second biggest continent  in the world and it consist of 54 countries. The Mediterranean Sea washes the shores of Africa toward the north, the Atlantic Ocean deludes the west of the country and the Indian Ocean toward the southeast.

Africa consists of some of the biggest countries in the world in terms of landmass and population, but it also contain some tiny countries.

The smallest nation in continental mainland of Africa is the Gambia but all of the five smallest African nations are island nations.

See list;

5. Cape Verde – 4,033 Square Km

Population: 558,487

Cape Verde

The country of Cape Verde is an archipelago with 10 islands of the volcanic source. The archipelago is situated in the Atlantic Sea at a separation of around 570 km toward the west of Senegal’s Cape Verde Promontory on territory Africa. The island country covers a zone of 4,033 square km, making it the fifth littlest country in Africa.

4. Comoros – 2,235 Square km

Population: 850,910


Comoros is an archipelago and a sovereign African nation arranged in the Indian Ocean. The archipelago is arranged between the African island nation of Madagascar and the African region nation of Mozambique. Comoros has an area of 2,235 square km and features three essential island and different more diminutive island. [AdSense-A]


3. Mauritius – 2,040 Square km

Population: 1,271,368


The island nation of Mauritius is a significant guest objective. It is arranged in the Indian Ocean where it includes a flat out zone of 2,040 square km. Mauritius’ area joins the Mascarene Islands of Rodrigues and Mauritius and other outside islands. Port Louis is the capital of the country.

2. São Tomé and Príncipe – 964 Square km

Population: 212,106

São Tomé and Príncipe

The second smallest country in Africa, São Tomé and Príncipe, is arranged in the Narrows of Guinea. São Tomé and Príncipe are the two rule islands of the archipelago. The islands are arranged at a partition of around 250 and 225 km off the shore of Gabon in domain Central Africa. The country has a zone of 964 square km.

1. Seychelles – 451 Square km

Population: 95,702


Seychelles is an archipelago of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean and a vital vacationer objective. Victoria is the capital city of this island nation. The capital is arranged around 1,500 km a long way from territory Africa. Comoros, Madagascar, and Mauritius are a segment of the island nations of Africa arranged in the Indian Ocean close Seychelles. The nation includes a district of 451 square km.


1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Gwamna Skwame

    September 30, 2019 at 10:43 pm

    I wanted to visit one of this Islands someday in my lifetime. May the Lord show me that day and help me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *